Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows part 2 is only days away from release and, while so many are looking forward to it, this author is dreading it. Not because I fear it will be bad, oh no, how could it be? I dread it because, for me, it is another goodbye to my childhood.

I was six years old when Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone (or Philosopher’s Stone in the UK) was slapped on to the book shelves of Barnes & Noble and Boarders across the world and, while I was only six years old, and therefore not really interested in the novels, it was still a big part of my childhood.

 When I finally did pick up the novel, the first movie was being released in theaters and I was a whopping ten years old. I was an avid reader at the time and Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire had been released months before. After seeing the first film, and reading the first novel, I was an instant Potter Fan. My father thought I was too young to read about witches and wizards, so I had to sneak the novels, checking them out from the school library and reading them in bed, by flashlight.

As the years (and films) passed, I grew fonder of the characters, fell even more in love with Hogwarts and felt fear of  He- Who- Shall- Not- Be- Named. With the death of Serius Black, I felt the loss and hopelessness. When Dumbledore was killed, I felt the fear and confusion that comes with “Who will help Harry now?”. And with the loss of Doby, I felt the anger and finality. No longer would there be any more Mister Nice Potter.

When the last book was released, there was a sense of the end that didn’t come on too quickly, but with the release of Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows part 1, the end became clear. The final battle was approaching and even more loss, more pain, and more finality would accompany it. The deaths of more beloved characters are to follow, as well as the coupling of a few of our favorite witches and wizards. And while I cannot wait, I am still very saddened.

I feel like a part of me is coming to an end. There will no longer be another trip through the doors of Hogwarts, or another Quiddich game to chear on. There will not be any more threats from Malfoy about his father hearing about the happenings in the halls, or any more Defence Against the Dark Arts Proffessors. But just because that chapter in our lives is over, does not mean we need to let it go.

I will remember Harry Potter fondly, passing on the adventures to the younger generations, and hopefully, the joy and magic felt over the years will remain, even with this being the end.

